The Cream of the Crop: My Top 3 Hand Creams

IMG_1422

Now that the weather is getting colder the days of dry chapped hands are imminent and so I have been keeping my favourite hand creams on standby for around the clock moisturising!

The Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector, £10 for 100ml

IMG_1433

If you read my review of the Body Shop’s Hemp Hand Protector from back in August you will know how much I love it.  This product is the mother of all hand creams and it is my go to solution for extremely dry, irritated skin.  This is the heaviest and greasiest of my three favourites so I tend not to use this during the day.  I consider this Hemp Hand Protector more of a super-moisturising hand treatment.   I apply it to my hands and elbows before I go to bed and let it work its magic overnight so that I can wake up in the morning to soft, moisturised skin.

Soap and Glory Hand Food,  £2.50 for 50ml

IMG_1435

This hand cream is the cheapest of my top three.  I have the 50ml tube because it is the perfect size for carrying around in my handbag but the full 125ml tube is only £5.  That is incredible value for a fantastic product.  This cream is very light and non-greasy – it absorbs straight away which makes it the perfect cream to use throughout the day because you can do other things without getting greasy fingerprints all over everything.  Unlike the Body Shop hand protector this product smells lovely.  If you like the typical Soap and Glory scent, then you will love this!

IMG_1438

L’Occitane Shea Butter Loving Rose Hand Cream, £8 for 30ml

IMG_1434

The newest hand cream to join the ranks is this pretty little offering from L’Occitane.  It is part of the Limited Edition Shea Butter Collection and is 20% Shea Butter.  This makes it incredibly effective for moisturising dry hands.

IMG_1437

I am usually not a big fan of rose scented products because it reminds me of rose flavoured Turkish delight and is usually quite sickly and overpowering.  However I absolutely love the scent of this hand cream.  The rose fragrance is very subtle and sophisticated.  I also love this product’s packaging, especially the pink flower lid.

IMG_1436

At £8 for 30ml this is the most expensive product of the three.  However I got mine free in this month’s edition of Marie Claire.  If you act fast, you may still be able to get your hands on one of their four different scents.  As well as my ‘Rose Tenderness’, there’s ‘Subtle Violet’, ‘Jasmine Passion’ and their original hand cream for dry skin.

IMG_1439

Have a good week!

2 comments

  1. I use the Soap and Glory hand cream and agree it is very good – I usually don’t like hand creams because I find that they don’t absorb well and leave you with very greasy hands but the Hand Food doesn’t do it at all! Smells good too. Great review! Camilla

Leave a comment